Saturday, 12 October 2013

Forum cum dinner on 20 October in commemoration of the 12th Anniversary of Sahabat Rakyat Working Committee

Forum cum dinner on 20 October
in commemoration of the 12th Anniversary
of Sahabat Rakyat Working Committee

Media statement of Sahabat Rakyat Working Committee dated 12 October 2013

Sahabat Rakyat Working Committee will be organising “NGOs・Parliamentary Struggle・ Democracy and Human Rights” forum cum dinner in commemoration of the 12th Anniversary of our organisation. Particulars are as follows:

Date: 20 October 2013 (Sunday)
Time: 2:30pm – 7:00pm (Forum: 2:30pm to 5:30pm; Dinner: 5:30pm to 7:00pm)
Venue: Cathay Restaurant, Kulai, Johor.

Admission at 2pm sharp to ensure sufficient time for Q&A session.

Panel Speakers: Wong Tack, Hew Kuan Yau, Low Sik Thong, Zaid Kamaruddin

The invited panel speakers are well-known figures with unique representation. Their names and title of their papers are as below:

1. Title yet to be confirmed by Wong Tack, Chair of Himpunan Hijau
2. Liberty through Challenging Boundaries, Justice through Resisting by Dr. Hew Kuan Yau, Political scientist
3. NGOs should Make Use of Parliamentary Struggle, Form a United Front, Strive for Democracy and Human Rights! by Mr. Low Sik Thong, leader of Chinese associations
4. Civil Society Organisations and Change: A Collaborative Approach by Mr. Zaid Kamaruddin, delegate of Gabungan Bertindak Malaysia (GBM).

A leader of religious group has turned down our invitation to become one of the panel speakers and to provide a paper for this forum due to his pre-scheduled activities and time constraint. Nevertheless, we sincerely look forward to future collaborations with various religious groups and leaders.

All panel speakers are free to opt to speak in Mandarin, English or Malay language at their convenience. They will also answer questions from the floor after delivering their speeches.

Coupons are available at RM40 each (VIP seat RM800 / table). We welcome all who are concerned with the democracy and human rights in Malaysia to attend this event. For those who are interested, feel free to contact mobile no. 016-7782707 or email or facebook (

The Sixth Working Committee of Sahabat Rakyat

Apart from that, we will also introduce the members of the sixth Sahabat Rakyat Working Committee (year 2013-2015). The incumbent committee members are as below:

Presidium: Chan Jock Lan, Wong Kwai Man, Choo Shinn Chei (3 person)
Secretariat: Yong Siew Lee, Fang Pei Fen, Ang Pei Shan (3 person)
Financial matters committee: Cheng Lee Whee, Goh Chee Horng, Liang Peck Kuan (3 person)
Committee: Mohd Nasir Prayitno, Chen Xin, Ng Tee Neng, Lee Chun How, Ngo Jian Yee, Nyam Kee Han, Lee Chen Kang, Chin Siew Chien, Kong Eng Swee, Chai Bing Nee, Ng Siew Hong, Cheng Hui, Law Swee Kah, Lam Fatt Loi, Tan Wee Tiong, Hon You Ping, Yeo Tung Siong, Lee Chen Feng (18 person)

You can also read the statement in Bahasa Melayu and Mandarin.


通告 Notification

Malaysia Time (GMT+8)